Stocks – Wall Street Rises as Split Congress Boosts Investor Confidence

© Reuters. Wall Street opened higher on Wednesday.

Investing.com – Wall Street opened higher Wednesday as the Democrats won the House of Representatives, but Republicans kept control of the Senate during the midterm elections.

The rose 31 points, or 1.14%, to 2,786.88 as of 9:38 AM ET (14:38 GMT), while the increased 208 points, or 0.81%, to 25,843.70 and the tech-heavy was up 87 points, or 1.18% to 7,463.15.

Investor confidence was boosted after the midterm elections, as a gridlock in Congress has been known to bring strong returns in equity markets.

The results were in line with forecasts and seen as a referendum on U.S. President Donald Trump’s term.

Despite the split, Trump tweeted that the elections were a “tremendous success.” He is expected to make a statement on the midterm results at 11:30 AM ET (16:30 GMT).

Meanwhile, the Federal Reserve begins its two-day policy meeting. While no rate hike is expected, traders expect the Fed to raise rates in December.

Target (NYSE:) was among the top gainers after the morning bell, rising 2.22%, while Twilio (NYSE:) jumped 18.57% after its earnings came in higher than expected. Amazon.com (NASDAQ:) rose 2.74% and Tesla (NASDAQ:) gained 0.66%.

Elsewhere, Zillow (NASDAQ:) slumped 22.53% after the company warned that current quarter revenue would fall short of expectations. Michael Kors (NYSE:) fell 16.57% after its fiscal second-quarter revenue missed estimates, although its profit was higher than expected.

In commodities, increased 0.49% to $1,229.40 a troy ounce, while futures rose 0.72% to $62.66 a barrel. The , which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, fell 0.42% to 95.71.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are

Read More Here...

Bookmark the permalink.