S&P SL20 includes Ceylinco Ins, Melstacorp, Softlogic Holdings & Vallibel One

Jun 15, 2018 (LBO) – Colombo Stock Exchange (CSE) has announced changes in S&P Sri Lanka 20 index constituents made by S&P Dow Jones Indices at the 2018 mid‐year index rebalance.

A revision of the S&P SL 20 methodology in March 2017 established the practice of a semiannual rebalance of the index (previously conducted annually) and the rebalance of the index now takes place during the months of June and December each year.

The revision also established the inclusion of non‐voting ordinary shares listed by the respective companies of the S&P SL 20 Index, provided that such shares meet relevant liquidity requirements.

The exclusions and inclusions as announced by S&P Dow Jones Indices, effective from 18 June 2018 (after the market close of 14 June 2018) are presented below in alphabetical order.


No. Company CSE Ticker 1 Ceylon Cold Stores PLC CCS.N0000 2 Ceylon Tobacco Company PLC CTC.N0000 3 Nestle Lanka PLC NEST.N0000 4 Seylan Bank PLC SEYB.N0000 SEYB.X0000


No. Company CSE Ticker 1 Ceylinco Insurance PLC CINS.N0000 2 Melstacorp PLC MELS.N0000 3 Softlogic Holdings PLC SHL.N0000 4 Vallibel One PLC VONE.N0000

The S&P SL 20 index includes the 20 largest companies, by total market capitalization, listed on the CSE that meet minimum size, liquidity and financial viability thresholds. The constituents are weighted by float-adjusted market capitalization, subject to a single stock cap of 15%, which is employed to reduce single stock concentration.

The S&P SL 20 index has been designed in accordance with international practices and standards. All stocks are classified according to the Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS®), which was co-developed by S&P Dow Jones Indices and MSCI and is widely used by market participants throughout the world.

To be eligible for inclusion, a stock must have a minimum float-adjusted market capitalization of 500 million Sri

Read More Here...

Bookmark the permalink.